Give Me Belief or Give Me Death

Dear Friend,

Today’s blog goes out to a special someone and to all you others out there that lack belief in yourself or in specific areas in life.

Just recently, I have had conversations with a few people that was pretty much about belief or lack thereof. A lot of fears or doubts are rooted in disbelief, whether in ourselves, others, or even God. On the other hand, a lot of victories and moments of triumph are rooted in belief. Whether they are based on abilities, lies(told by others or ourselves), or circumstances is unsure based on each person but also totally irrelevant in the big picture. Let me explain….

I am strong believer in God and the power and strength He not only possesses but shares with those not only in need but humble enough to ask for it. Too often, myself included, we rely on our own strength and capacity. Belief is a choice.

My own personal experience just recently was that my front right tire had this shaking noise when we would drive and it seemed to be getting worse. We didn’t have the money to fix it just sitting around so I began praying that God would fix it supernaturally or provide the money. I totally put my faith in Him that He would provide in His special ways he tends to use. Within a week, He provided in a way I wasn’t planning and the car was fixed a few days later.

An example of unbelief just recently….my husband and I are very blessed with what we have, we are by no means just overflowing with financial means but needs are met and some wants. God has provided for us in many different ways. Not long ago, I would have moments of appreciation and then moments of asking “why aren’t we further? why can’t there just be money so I don’t ever have to worry?” God would humble me quickly and bring my mind back to the truth, I never stayed in that moment long. I struggled with that for the longest time and it caused me stress, anger, hurt, doubt, and fear. One day, I just decided that I am extremely blessed and God has provided thus far and will continue because I know the promises His word tells me. It wasn’t an instant change in perspective and it will continue to be a struggle because of fleshly desires, but I have so much peace and anytime I begin to doubt, I PRAY! I give it to God and let it go. The verse that always came to mind:

“Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much.  Luke 16:10

I became thankful in everything and remembered to keep God at the helm and I am confident He will bless that, whether here on earth or when I return home with Him. I believe the same for you so deeply, and I pray that this won’t just be an encouragement but will be taken literally and put into action.

The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.

I don’t know what you may be facing right now, could be sickness or disease, a death of a close friend or family, unemployment, never seem to make ends meet, your relationships, your business or career, maybe wondering when will this end, maybe struggling with your faith in God or belief in anything. All I can tell you, GIVE it TO GOD right now. Stop reading and just lay it down with Him. God sent His son to us to die so that we could be given the gift of freedom in whatever it is we need freedom from, it could be multiple areas. Believe in that gift and know that it is as easy and simple as just opening your mouth and asking Him. I don’t put limits on God any more, when I ask Him for something, I pray for help and ask for the outcome I desire but I also leave it that His will be done because my little mind can’t possibly fathom the ways he can turn struggle into the best victory and lesson. NEVER PUT LIMITS, BE PATIENT, BELIEVE AND WATCH. We always have to do our part so He can freely move.

There is nothing more powerful than belief…why? Because it is a choice and a mindset that doesn’t come naturally, it is fought for on a daily basis. Anything that comes easy to us doesn’t teach us discipline and doesn’t build up strength. Belief is believing in something bigger than our own abilities and capabilities, because they both are given and taken away by God.

No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.  1 Corinthians 10:13

Anytime we put our belief in ourselves, failure and disappointment awaits. But when belief is put in God, success and victory comes. I sincerely pray that whatever you are currently struggling with right now, you see that it isn’t too big for God to overcome and with your belief, He will bring freedom and peace. God is faithful. Nothing is ever too big, too small, or too silly. Ask and you shall receive.

Dig deeper in the source, God’s Word, don’t take my word for it alone. Sometimes when you don’t know what to ask for, just simply say God HELP!

The reason my title is “Give Me Belief or Give me Death”, is first I used it from Patrick Henry’s famous speech in case you noticed… and also because if we don’t believe in something besides just ourselves then we are asking for death. Not literal death, but emotional, spiritual, mental and physical death. Physical death usually means you have stopped breathing, but in this case I mean that you have lost the desire to move, to go into the world and live it to the fullest, and maybe you have lost the reason to live because everything has lost meaning or hope so you have cut the world off and remain secluded either mentally and emotionally or maybe even remain at home most of the time. If this is the case or something similar, in which case you are the judge, I would recommend reading my post Always Hopeful and then begin looking in God’s word and having someone you can go to and receive love and understanding. Having someone that you can go to and receive a big bear hug(which my sister in law Brooke has to be the best ever). https://jessicalynnettesorensen.wordpress.com/2014/08/24/always-hopeful/

I am not belittling any struggles you have or are facing because everyone’s journey is different. My encouragement is that nothing is too big for God and he can give freedom in anything. Maybe you already know that and this is just a reminder, maybe you used to believe that but due to circumstances, you drifted away, maybe you have never believed and this is just a tool to spark belief and curiosity to dig deeper, I don’t know.

I believe due to things I see on the news, people I meet, and stories I hear that our community, city, state, country, and world are lacking in belief in anything. We have been distracted by all the things of this world constantly happening around us and to us. I pray that the focus gets redirected to God first and then you begin to receive freedom. Never give up! As you receive freedom, I hope you will share it with me and others.

Believe! It is the best hope we have… 🙂

With love and prayer,

Jessica

Leave a comment