Sparks Flew, Sparks Fly

The day you met that special someone, the one who would be yours till “Death parts you.”

All love stories start out so different…some people know from the moment they laid eyes on each other, others are friends first, and some one person knows and just waiting for the other to catch up.

For me, I would say my love falls in the last scenario.

But what rings true in all love…sparks fly when you find that someone. Or at least it should!

As young girls…all we hear and see is these fairytale stories of the perfect romantic moments that puts the idea of what love “should” be. Although love in real life rarely, if ever, happens the way they do in books and movies, they give us the dream of wanting true love.

What is true love you might ask?

I think it is different for each person but the basics..

You can be your true self with that person.

Honesty and respect is something valued and expressed.

I believe that love is when…that person still makes your heart stop and beat faster at the same time when they grab your hand, kiss your cheek, smile, laugh, and when looking at them across the room.

Now don’t mistake me for naive to life..I have felt my fair share of “get away from me now” and “I really don’t want to look at you right now” feelings. Life is not perfect and you may not feel “in love” every moment of your life, but you will feel it every day. That is my hope for all married couples and I know it is God’s as well.

When Tj and I were dating, I felt like life would be over without him. When we were first married, I felt life was over with him…we fought so much, I had no idea where the sparks went. Haha

Over time…the fighting went away when we compromised that Tj would pick up after himself so I didn’t have a reason to be mad anymore! JK(Just Kidding)!

I think what happens too often after marriage is we lose the “I want to date you” mentality. The romance lessens, the dating stops, and we let little petty things cause arguments that just dims the love more. Life happens and sometimes we just have to ride it out and hope to make it out in the end stronger. What we have to hold onto through the trials of life is the sparks that began this journey we call love.

What changed in our marriage? We learned to fight against the problems, not each other.

We can’t lose focus of the bond we share with the person next to us, the vows we made to one another.

We have to learn to hold onto one another in the tough moments, not letting anything come between.

I can tell you just about every detail of the night Tj and I met. I will never forget the feeling when he first smiled at me.

We have been through the mud together and in the clouds together. What I cherish most is that we made our way up to the clouds by discovering a precious love through Jesus Christ.

I believe this verse states it best…

A person standing alone can be attacked and defeated, but two can stand back-to-back and conquer. Three are even better, for a triple-braided cord is not easily broken.            -Ecclesiastes 4:12

Marriage begins with a man and a woman in love and remains because of the love they have for Christ separately and together. He is the third cord not easily broken.

Sparks remain when you run alongside one another and if one gets tired, you don’t leave them behind, you slow down and walk together till the second wind kicks in, knowing that the finish line will be much more exciting side by side, hand in hand.

If the love has dimmed…don’t lose hope! It is never to late to rekindle the sparks! When Tj and I were dating and I was waiting for him to catch up to the fact that we were meant to be together….I remember dreaming of our future and praying that God would bring us together. Although the future I imagined isn’t exactly how it happened, God did bring us together and when life tries to get in the way…I remember all our great moments together and my desire to have the exact life I have now with him. My life with Tj is much more important than the temptation to fight, hold onto pride or stubbornness.

Each couple has their own special story of how they met, the moment they felt the sparks of love, the moment they said “I Do”, and the life they have built to this day. In the tough moments, remember your special moments and the feelings you had in the young love stage.

My true belief from our experience, is that the pure and passionate love a marriage needs can only be attained through the pure and unconditional love we receive from Christ first.

Always be humble and gentle. Be patient with each other, making allowance for each other’s faults because of your love.                    -Ephesians 4:2 

They are joined fast to one another; they cling together and cannot be parted.    -Job 41:17 

“In your anger do not sin” Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold.    

-Ephesians 4:26-27

Remember when Sparks Flew, live to see Sparks Fly.

With Love,

Jessica

Leave a Reply

